Poaching Ketupat

by Rey

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After all now it’s the last day for fasting, we’ll commemorate the day of victory (Idul Fitri) for succeeding to have 30 days fasting of Ramadan. By the way, Idul fitri in Indonesia was so distinctive. Our country has so ubiquitous traditions in which merely occurred every year in the way of its commemoration. From a ritual mentioned as ‘Mudik’ (some urbans go back to their own villages where they get from for family and colleagues visit) and a cuisine that’s so commonly served in Idul fitri called as ‘Ketupat’ (a pouch that whickered from palm leaves filled with rice then poached in boiling water for some hours served with special gravy or other dishes that merely found on Idul fitri). I’m a Moslem in Indonesia as well, who commemorates Idul Fitri through that way. Including our own residence is in that way, so hectic in preparation for the next day. Being exhausted, but that was so glad to do since it would be a yearning stuff as I’m unable at home for Idul Fitri some time. it’s more than 4 years already, I’ve never had Idul Fitri with my beloved family for my work reason. That’s been a while, right. Being together with my own family would be such of peculiar thing for me now. But anyway, that’s a consequence of my work and it’s my own choice.
And now this year, is so different. It’s my turn to be at home on Idul Fitri day with my beloved family. I will never leave those single moments, the ambiance of Ramadan until Idul Fitri must be well recorded in this blog. and I will miss this scarce moment for the next year could be. Some shots above are the sequences of poaching ketupat done by my mother at our house. Being so excited anyway. I do love to take shot this moment.
Well, this Ramadan will end in some hours count then subsequently turn to syawal. I do expect, may all of us are the winner to those righteous exams and be a real of men who are able to back at zero point of life in Fitri Day.